trustjesussite

This site is about the helpless, hopeless,soul's seeking to finally know what Love truly is, and no matter what it looks, feels, or sounds like, that there's one that loves you with a Love like no other! And HIS NAME is JESUS!

Runaway Child

on March 2, 2017

As I started thinking about running away at first it was a scary thought. I mean how was I going to live? I didn’t know the first thing about how I was going to take care of myself! I was 13 years old and as far as My Mom and My siblings went, I was also stupid! And so I decided against running away for awhile. That is until that night that I just had to break free! It was a Sunday night, my Mom, my brother and Sister were in the living room watching tv. Mom was agitated with me because she said I was moving too slow as far as cleaning up the kitchen that night after dinner. It wasn’t my turn to clean up the kitchen, it was my Little sisters turn. But my Mom said that my little sister always left the dishes greasy and she wanted them clean! And since I opened my mouth and said that it was my sister’s turn to clean the kitchen, Mom said since you got so much mouth you go in the kitchen and clean it up! Like I don’t know who’s turn it is! What you trying to call me stupid? I said no Mom. But she was already stirred up and I just went into the kitchen and started washing the dishes! Mom was talking about me to my older brother and my Little Sister like I wasn’t even a part of the Family! Tears we’re pouring down my face while I washed the dishes and put them in the dish rack. They were laughing at me, and talking about me!! It broke my heart into pieces! We had pig feet for dinner which I hated! I use to keep a little brown paper bag in My pocket to put the pig feet in and take them out side to our dog Queenie!! She was a beautiful German Shepherd! But even she wouldn’t eat the pig feet! So, I had to walk around to the side of the house to throw it into the garbage can! Oh, by the way, my Sister and I had to take out the garbage as well! My Brother didn’t have chores only us.

But I digress, on this particular night I had to take out the garbage by myself! And there were huge rats around by the garbage can. We, my Sister and I use  get as close to the garbage cans and throw the garbage into the can! And then run as fast as We could because the rat’s use to start fighting over the garbage and it was  scary sound! I had to do all this by myself that night because I dared to tell Mom that it was NOT my turn to do the kitchen clean up! Mom had this big ole pot that she used to cook collard greens, or pig feet or hammocks. ( I hated those too) the bathroom was down a long narrow hall and you had two steps down to enter the bathroom on the left! As I was walking down the hall I slipped and fell and there was pig feet juice every where! That was the last straw! Mom came out of the living room and grabbed the pot off the floorboard started bearing me about the head, back any where she could hit me. The pot slipped from her hand so she snatched the shade off the window in the hall and whipped out the thin wooden piece from the bottom of the shade, when that broke she took the far part of the shade roll itself to beat me with. It was  that point, that I saw a way out! And I took it! I ran down the stairs and out the door! And I kept on running. Never looking back! I ran, and ran for about 4 or 5 blocks until I was winded and gasping for breath! It was night time so, there were not a lot of people outside! I remember thinking ok, now what are you going to do? I went to a building where one of my friends from school lived and went all the way up the the attic door! I sat down and balled myself up. And I asked GOD to please watch over me and not make me go back to that house where there was no love for me there! All I remember of that night is I fell asleep because the next thing I knew was it was morning and I heard my friend’s Mom telling her and her brother to hurry up or they’d be late for school! I still stayed where I was until every one in the building that was going to school, work, or wherever was gone! And that was my very first day of being a runaway child! Not knowing what lay ahead of me, but I thought anything was far better than to be back at my Mom’s house, where there was no love, and no laughter for me!! I was free!!

 

Leave a Reply

